Photos of the Sun

Solar system. The Sun, Mercury and Venus

Solar system. The Sun, Mercury and Venus

The Solar System consists of the Sun, the planets and their accompanying satellites, asteroids, comets, meteoroids, dust and interplanetary gas. The dimensions of this system are specified in terms of the average distance from the Earth to the Sun, called the astronomical unit (AU). A UA corresponds to about 150 million kilometers.

The border between the Solar System and interstellar space - called heliopause - is supposed to be 100 AU. Comets, however, are the furthest from the Sun; Its orbits are very eccentric, extending up to 50,000 AU or more.

The Sun contains 99.85% of all matter in the Solar System. The planets, which are condensed from the same material that formed the Sun, contain only 0.135% of the system's mass. Jupiter contains more than twice the matter of all the other planets together. The satellites of planets, comets, asteroids, meteoroids, and the interplanetary medium make up the remaining 0.015%.

◄ PreviousNext ►
Photo of the SunSolar flares
Album: Photos of the Solar System Gallery: The Sun, Mercury and Venus